Over 70 California Auctions End Today - Bid Now
Over 200 Total Lots Up For Auction at One Location - UT 06/15

National MACRA Advisory Council launched

Press releases may be edited for formatting or style | February 15, 2017 Business Affairs
East Windsor, NJ – February 13, 2017 – SpectraMedix, a leader in enabling healthcare organizations to improve care delivery and transition to value-based payment models, announced today the creation of a new national MACRA Advisory Council. The MACRA Advisory Council will operate as an independent, voluntary body, with financing and administrative support provided by SpectraMedix. It is made up of healthcare delivery, policy, and IT experts who will work to advance the goals of the MACRA program and provide solutions to challenges that executives, administrators, and clinicians face as they implement its Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and Alternative Payment Model (APM) tracks. The Council will also focus on state Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment (DSRIP) Medicaid reform initiatives, the Medi-Cal PRIME program, and other 1115 waiver-related programs.

“This is a unique opportunity to really dig deep into how MACRA works, and understand how it will impact healthcare organizations, practices and physicians over the short and long term,” said Advisory Council Co-Chair, Sajid Ahmed, Chief Information and Innovation Officer at MLK Health in Los Angeles. “It will allow us to share our experiences, learn from others and collaborate on innovative paths forward.”

MACRA is intended to transform the health care system from its traditional fee-for-service payment model to new risk-bearing, coordinated care models. Under MACRA, providers face substantial Medicare reimbursement penalties and opportunities for rewards. Additionally, MACRA results will be publically reported, impacting provider public profiles nationwide.

There are 12 inaugural members of the Advisory Council.

Sajid Ahmed, Chief Information & Innovation Officer, MLK Health, South Los Angeles (Council Co-Chair)
Ken Bradberry, Chief Technology Officer, Conduent (Council Co-Chair)
Charles Aunger, Managing Director, Health 2047, former Senior Executive Director Information Technology, Stanford Health Care
Sri Bharadwaj, Director, Information Services & Chief Information Security Officer, UC Irvine Health
Karen Bell, MD, MMS, Director, JBS International; former Acting National Coordinator of the Office of the National Coordinator (ONC); former Chair, CCHIT; and Author, An HIT Framework for Accountable Care
Dee Cantrell, President, HIT Consultancy, LLC; former Chief Information Officer, Emory Healthcare
Christina Caraballo, Sr. Strategist, GetReal Health; Winner, HIMSS Most Influential Women 2017

You Must Be Logged In To Post A Comment